

MINUTES

Minutes of the Mayor Making Ceremony held in the Main Auditorium, Ludlow Assembly Rooms, Mill Street, Ludlow on **WEDNESDAY 26th MAY 2010** at **7.00PM**

FC/01 PRESENT

Chairman: Councillor Taylor-Smith, Town Mayor

Vice-Chairman: Councillor Davies, Deputy Mayor

Councillors: Councillors Aitken; Callender; Glaze; Hunt; Jackson;

Mitchell; Newbold; Parry; Pope; Smithers; Wilcox

Officers: Veronica Calderbank, Town Clerk;

Lucy Morgan, PA

Gina Wilding, Communications & Cemeteries Officer Chris Baylis, Markets and Special Projects Officer Stephen Gregory, Supervising Grounds Person Sean Turgoose, Assistant Grounds Person

Also in Attendance: Rev James Stewart, Mayor's Chaplain

John Coxill, Common Sergeant Stephen Dean, Deputy Mace Bearer

Rosanna Taylor-Smith. Mayoress of Ludlow

FC/02 PRAYERS

Led by Mayor's Chaplain, Reverend James Stewart.

FC/03 APOLOGIES

Apologies were received from Councillors McCormack and Pound.

FC/04 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

In accordance with the terms of the Local Authorities (Model Code of Conduct) (England) Order 2007 issued under Section 51 of the Local Government Act 2000 Members declared interests as follows:

There were no personal or prejudicial interests declared.

FC/05 ADDRESS FROM THE TOWN MAYOR

Councillor Taylor-Smith addressed the meeting and presented a cheque to Working Together, the Mayor's Charity for 2009/10.

FC/06 <u>ELECTION OF DEPUTY TOWN MAYOR</u>

Councillor Marie Glaze proposed and Councillor John Aitken seconded.

RESOLVED (unanimous)

That Councillor Amanda Pope be formally appointed Deputy Town Mayor of Ludlow for the Municipal Year 2010/11.

FC/07 DECLARATION OF ACCEPTANCE OF OFFICE

Councillor Amanda Pope, the newly elected Deputy Town Mayor signed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

FC/08 ELECTION OF THE TOWN MAYOR

Councillor Jeffry Wilcox proposed and Councillor Amanda Pope seconded.

RESOLVED (unanimous)

That Councillor John Aitken be formally appointed Town Mayor of Ludlow for the Municipal Year 2010/11.

FC/09 DECLARATION OF ACCEPTANCE OF OFFICE

Councillor John Aitken, the newly elected Town Mayor signed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

The Mayor announced that the meeting was adjourned for the procession.

The Common Sergeant and Deputy Mace-Bearer led the Mayoral party and all Ludlow Town Councillors outside for the Exchange of Robes.

The Common Sergeant and Mace-Bearer led the newly elected Mayor and his Procession to the stage.

FC/10 PRESENTATION

The new Mayor, Councillor John Aitken announced that Mayoral Badges to the outgoing Mayor and Mayoress, Cllr Martin Taylor-Smith and Rosanna Taylor-Smith would be made and invited then to the stage to receive the recognition and bouquet.

FC/11 MAYOR'S ADDRESS

The Mayor, Councillor John Aitken addressed the meeting and announced the Mayor's Charity for 2010/11 was Ludlow Carers Group.

FC/12 ANNOUNCEMENT OF MAYORESS/CONSORT

The Town Mayor announced his wife Pam Aitken as his Mayoress for 2010/11.

FC/13 APPOINTMENT OF MAYOR'S CHAPLAIN

The Town Mayor appointed Reverend James Stewart, Acting Rector of Ludlow, as his Chaplain for 2010/11.

FC/14 APPOINTMENT OF COMMON SERGEANT & MACE-BEARER

The Town Mayor appointed Mr John Coxill as the Common Sergeant and Mr Donald Meredith as the Mace-Bearer for 2010/11 and thanked Stephen Dean for attending on Mr Meredith's behalf.

FC/15 CIVIC AWARDS

The meeting closed at 0.20nm

The Town Mayor presented a Civic Awards to Emmy James and Abi Morgan, Graeme Perks, Dr Jen Davies and Kathleen Bills

The meeting closed at 6.50pm.		
Town Movor	Date	
Town Mayor	Date	

N.B. No Confidential Minutes will be issued.