

LUDLOW TOWN COUNCIL

Thursday 15 May 2008

You are summoned to attend a Meeting of Ludlow Town Council which will be held at Ludlow Assembly Room, Mill Street, Ludlow on **Wednesday 21st May 2008** at **7.00pm** at which your attendance is required.

TO: MEMBERS OF LUDLOW TOWN COUNCIL: Councillors Glaze (Town Mayor), Smithers (Deputy Town Mayor), Aitken, Bradley, Callender, Davies, Galtress, Hunt, Kidd, Mitchell, Newbold, Perks, Pope, Pound and Wilcox

AGENDA

1. ELECTION OF TOWN MAYOR – To elect a Town Mayor for the ensuing year.

Councillor Marie Glaze will propose and Councillor Michael Bradley will second

"That Councillor James Newbold be elected Town Mayor of Ludlow for the Municipal Year 2008/09."

2. DECLARATION OF ACCEPTANCE OF OFFICE – The newly elected Town Mayor will make the Declaration of Acceptance of Office and address the Council.

3. THANKS TO PAST MAYOR

Councillor James Newbold will propose and Councillor Amanda Pope will second

"That this Council tender to Councillor Mrs Marie Glaze their sincere thanks for the courteous, efficient and admirable manner in which she has discharged the important and exacting duties of the Office of Town Mayor of Ludlow during the Municipal Year ended 21st May 2008."

The immediate Past Town Mayor will reply.

4. APOLOGIES – To receive any apologies for absence.

5. PREJUDICIAL AND PERSONAL INTERESTS – To receive any specific declarations of interest.



6. ELECTION OF DEPUTY TOWN MAYOR

Councillor Marie Glaze will propose and Councillor Mitch Mitchell will second

"That Councillor Derek Davies be elected Deputy Town Mayor of Ludlow for the Municipal Year 2008/09."

7. **DECLARATION OF ACCEPTANCE OF OFFICE** – The newly elected Deputy Town Mayor will make the Declaration of Acceptance of Office

8. ANNOUNCEMENT OF MAYORESS/CONSORT – The Town Mayor to announce the Mayoress/Consort for 2008/09.

9. APPOINTMENT OF MAYOR'S CHAPLAIN – The Town Mayor to appoint Revd Preb Brian Curnew, Rector of Ludlow, as Chaplain for 2008/09.

10. APPOINTMENT OF COMMON SERGEANT & MACE-BEARER – The Town Mayor to appoint Mr Graham Davies as the Common Sergeant and Mr John Coxill as the Mace-Bearer for 2008/09.

11.	SCHEDULE OF MEETINGS -	To approve the	Schedule of Meetings as follows:

COMMITTEE	DATE
Representational	Tuesday 27 th May 2008
Services	Monday 9 th June 2008
Representational	Tuesday 10 th June 2008
Policy & Finance	Monday 16 th June 2008
Accounts Sub	Wednesday 18 th June 2008
Representational	Tuesday 1 st July 2008
Services	Monday 14 th July 2008
Representational	Tuesday 15 th July 2008
Accounts Sub	Wednesday 16 th July 2008
Policy & Finance	Monday 21 st July 2008
Council	Monday 28 th July 2008
Representational	Tuesday 29 th July 2008
Representational	Tuesday 12 th August 2008
Accounts Sub	Monday 18 th August 2008
Representational	Tuesday 26 th August 2008
Representational	Tuesday 9 th September 2008
Accounts Sub	Wednesday 17 th September 2008
Services	Monday 22 nd September 2008



Representational	Tuesday 23 rd September 2008
Policy & Finance	Monday 29 th September 2008
Representational	Tuesday 7 th October 2008
Services	Monday 13 th October 2008
Accounts Sub	Wednesday 15 th October 2008
Policy & Finance	Monday 20 th October 2008
Representational	Tuesday 21 st October 2008
Council	Monday 27 th October 2008
Representational	Tuesday 11 th November 2008
Services	Monday 17 th November 2008
Accounts Sub	Wednesday 19 th November 2008
Policy & Finance	Monday 24 th November 2008
Representational	Tuesday 25 th November 2008
Representational	Tuesday 9 th December 2008
Accounts Sub	Wednesday 17 th December 2008
Representational	Tuesday 6 th January 2009
Services	Monday 12 th January 2009
Accounts Sub	Monday 19 th January 2009
Policy & Finance	
Representational	Tuesday 20 th January 2009
Council	Monday 26 th January 2009
Representational	Tuesday 3 rd February 2009
Services	Monday 16 th February 2009
Representational	Tuesday 17 th February 2009
Accounts Sub	Wednesday 18 th February 2009
Policy & Finance	Monday 23 rd February 2009
Representational	Tuesday 3 rd March 2009
Representational	Tuesday 17 th March 2009
Accounts Sub	Wednesday 18 th March 2009
Services	Monday 23 rd March 2009
Policy & Finance	Monday 30 th March 2009
Representational	Tuesday 31 st March 2009
Services	Monday 6 th April 2009
Accounts Sub	Wednesday 15 th April 2009
Policy & Finance	Monday 20 th April 2009
Representational	Tuesday 21 st April 2009
Council	Monday 27 th April 2009
Mayor Making/Annual Meeting	Wednesday 13 th May 2009



12. APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS ON COMMITTEES, SUB-COMMITTEES AND ADVISORY COMMITTEES – To appoint members for 2008/09 as follows:

Policy & Finance Committee	Councillors Aitken, Bradley, Glaze, Hunt, Kidd,	
	Newbold, Perks, Pound, Smithers & Wilcox	
Services Committee	Councillors Bradley, Callender, Glaze, Kidd,	
	Newbold, Perks, Pope, Pound & Smithers	
Representational Committee	Councillors Aitken, Callender, Davies, Galtress,	
	Hunt, Mitchell, Pope & Wilcox	
Accounts Sub-Committee	Councillors Aitken, Davies, Mitchell, Perks & Pope	
Staffing & Appeals Sub-	Councillors Aitken, Bradley, Glaze, Newbold &	
Committee	Pound	
Markets Sub-Committee	Councillors Bradley, Glaze, Newbold, Pope & Pound	
Highways & Parking Advisory	Councillors Callender, Hunt, Galtress, Kidd & Pope	
Committee		
Website & Newsletter Working	Councillors Glaze, Kidd, Perks & Pope	
Group		
Remembrance Sunday Working	Councillors Glaze, Wilcox & Smithers	
Group		
Cemetery Working Group	Councillors Bradley, Davies, Glaze & Pound	
Cardboard Recycling Working	Councillors Galtress, Perks & Smithers	
Group		
Christmas Lights Working Group	Councillors Bradley, Davies, Glaze & Pope	
Wheeler Road Working Group	Councillors Aitken, Callender & Perks	

The three Standing Committees will appoint their Chairman and Vice-Chairman for the year at the first meeting, together with the Chairmen of the Sub Committees.

13. MAYOR'S ALLOWANCE – To approve the Town Mayor's Allowance of \pounds 3,280 for 2008/09.

14. CIVIC AWARDS – The Town Mayor to present the Civic Awards.

15. REPRESENTATIVES ON OUTSIDE BODIES – To approve the list of Town Council representatives as follows:

Organisation	LTC Representative
South Shropshire Area Committee	Councillor Perks
Six Market Towns	Councillor Perks
Ludlow Marches Partnership	Councillor Perks
Ludlow Area Local Meeting Pilot	Councillor Kidd
Friends of Whiteliffe Common	Councillor Kidd
Town Walls Trust	Councillor Kidd
Ludlow in Bloom	Councillor Smithers
Pride of Place	Councillor Davies
Conservation Trust for St Laurence	Councillor Aitken



Bishop Mascall Centre	Councillor Wilcox
Teme Weirs Trust	Councillor Callender
Gallows Bank Trust	Councillor Mitchell
Ludlow Tourism Group	Councillor Davies
Cittàslow Ludlow	Councillor Perks
A49 Safety Group	Councillor Pope
Access Group	Councillor Bradley
Chamber of Trade & Commerce	Councillor Smithers
Ludlow & District Community Association	Councillors Smithers & Wilcox
SSDC Sports & Leisure Advisory	Councillor Smithers
SSDC Arts Advisory	Councillor Davies
Job Charlton Trust Almshouses, Ludford	Councillor Glaze
Elizabeth Massey Almshouses, Julian Road	Councillor Newbold
Hoyser-Foxe Almshouses, College Street	Councillors Glaze, Mitchell & Newbold
SSDC Conservation Area Advisory	Councillors Davies
Parish Paths Partnership	Councillor Callender

Linda A. Thomas Town Clerk