

# LUDLOW TOWN COUNCIL A G E N D A

To: All Members of the Council, Town Clerk, Assistant Town Clerk, Press Contact: Veronica Calderbank
Ludlow Town Council, The Stable Block, Stone House,
Corve Street, Ludlow, SY8 1DG
01584 838 010

townclerk@ludlow.gov.uk

Despatch date: 20th May 2010

### **MAYOR MAKING**

You are invited to attend a meeting of Ludlow Town Council to be held at the Ludlow Assembly Rooms, Mill Street, Ludlow on Wednesday 26<sup>th</sup> May 2010 at 7.00pm

Veronica Calderbank Town Clerk

## Key Agenda Items:

- Address from Retiring Mayor
- Declarations of Acceptance of New Mayor and Deputy Mayor
- New Mayor's Address
- Announcement of Mayoress
- Appointment of Mayor's Chaplin
- Appointment of Common Sergeant & Mace Bearer
- Civic Awards

This is Civic Function and the public will only be allowed in the public gallery. No public speaking is permitted.

Seats in the auditorium are allocated by tickets for invited guests only.



## **ORDER OF SERVICE**

- 1. **PRAYERS** Led by Mayor's Chaplain, Reverend James Stewart
- 2. APOLOGIES
- 3. PERSONAL AND PREJUDICIAL INTERESTS Members are requested to declare any personal and prejudicial interests they may have in matters to be considered at this meeting in accordance with the terms of the Local Authorities [Model Code of Conduct] [England] Order 2007 issued under Section 51 of the Local Government Act 2000
  - a) Declarations of personal interest
  - b) Declarations of prejudicial interest.
- **4. ADDRESS FROM TOWN MAYOR** Councillor Taylor-Smith to address the meeting and present a cheque to Working Together, Mayor's Charity for 2009/10.
- 5. **NEW DEPUTY TOWN MAYOR** Councillor Marie Glaze to propose and Councillor John Aitken to second that Councillor Amanda Pope be formally appointed Deputy Town Mayor of Ludlow for the Municipal Year 2010/11.
- **6. DECLARATION OF ACCEPTANCE OF OFFICE** The newly elected Deputy Town Mayor to make the Declaration of Acceptance of Office.
- 7. **NEW TOWN MAYOR** Councillor Jeffry Wilcox to propose and Councillor Amanda Pope to second that Councillor John Aitken be formally appointed Town Mayor of Ludlow for the Municipal Year 2010/11.
- 8. **DECLARATION OF ACCEPTANCE OF OFFICE** The newly elected Town Mayor to make the Declaration of Acceptance of Office.

  The Mayor will announce that the meeting is adjourned for the procession.



The Common Sergeant and Deputy Mace-Bearer will lead the Mayoral party and all Ludlow Town Councillors outside for the Exchange of Robes.

MR WILLIAM DAY will entertain the gathering with light music played on the flute.

The Common Sergeant and Mace-Bearer will lead the newly elected Mayor and his Procession to the stage.

- **9. PRESENTATION:** The new Mayor, Cllr John Aitken will present Mayoral Badges to the outgoing Mayor and Mayoress, Cllr Martin Taylor-Smith and Rosanna Taylor-Smith
- **10. MAYOR'S ADDRESS** The Mayor to address the meeting and announce the Mayor's Charity for 2010/11.
- **11. ANNOUNCEMENT OF THE MAYORESS/CONSORT** The Town Mayor to announce the Mayoress/Consort for 2010/11.
- **12. APPOINTMENT OF THE MAYOR'S CHAPLAIN** The Town Mayor to appoint Reverend James Stewart, Acting Rector of Ludlow, as Chaplain for 2010/11.
- **13. APPOINTMENT OF THE COMMON SERGEANT & THE MACE-BEARER** The Town Mayor to appoint Mr John Coxill as the Common Sergeant and Mr Donald Meredith as the Mace-Bearer for 2010/11.
- **14. CIVIC AWARDS** The Town Mayor to present the Civic Awards.

#### Membership

Councillors Taylor-Smith (Town Mayor); Davies (Deputy Mayor); Aitken; Callender; Glaze; Hunt; Jackson; McCormack; Mitchell; Newbold; Parry; Pope; Pound; Smithers; Wilcox

The next Council meeting will be held on Monday 7th June 2010